Posted on February 24, 2011 00:00
Information on city crosswalks is included in this episode of This Week from City Hall.
Watch This Week from City Hall
||The crosswalk at the intersection of Ann and Third streets is equipped with a special lighting system, which was the first of its kind in the State of North Carolina. This advanced lighting system is intended to warn approaching drivers of the presence of a pedestrian in the crosswalk. When a pedestrian presses the crosswalk button, flashing lights are activated to alert approaching motorists that there is someone in the crosswalk.
Motorists should be reminded that the speed limit along South 3rd Street is 35 mph and North Carolina state law requires motorists to yield to pedestrians within a crosswalk. Also, it is illegal to pass another vehicle that has stopped for a pedestrian in a crosswalk. The fine for violating these laws is $100.
Watch This Week from City Hall.