Layout - Left Frame
Sunday, February 7, 2016

National Register Historic Districts

The National Register of Historic Places is the nation’s official list of buildings and districts worthy of preservation because of their architectural and historic significance. It is a federal program administered by the National Park Service in partnership with state and local governments. Wilmington has seven districts listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

  • Wilmington Historic & Archaelogical
  • Market Street Mansion  
  • Carolina Place
  • Carolina Heights
  • Masonboro Sound
  • Sunset Park
  • Westbrook-Ardmore

Designation as a local historic district has no connection with listing in the National Register of Historic Places. Properties within the National Register Historic Districts are not subject to review by the Historic Preservation Commission unless they are within the local district boundaries. A 90-day notice of demolition is required for buildings and structures in the National Register Historic Districts.

Federal and State tax credit programs for these districts are administered by the State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO) in Raleigh. For more information, contact the Restoration Branch at 919.807.6572 or visit the SHPO website.
Layout - Right Frame
Layout - Footer Top Left Corner Layout - Footer Top Right Corner
Terms of Use  Privacy  ADA Policy  ©2002-2016 City of Wilmington 
102 North Third Street - Post Office Box 1810
Wilmington, North Carolina 28402-1810
Questions, Comments? Email Us!