Historic Preservation Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

This commission is appointed by City Council to four-year, staggered terms, all of which require City residency.

Nine (9) members

  • At least three (3) Historic District residents (HD/HDR or HD-MU)
  • At least one (1) Historic District Overlay (HD-O)
  • One (1) member may be a building owner or proprietor in HD-O
  • Four (4) At large


The Historic Preservation Commission (HPC) is a nine member board appointed by the City Council to "promote, enhance and preserve the character of the Wilmington historic districts." The HPC hears and decides requests for Certificates of Appropriateness in accordance with the adopted Wilmington Design Guidelines for Historic Districts and Landmarks.

Design review by the HPC is required for exterior alterations to properties located within the city's historic districts in order to ensure compatibility with the historic character of the district. The Design Guidelines do not impose a particular architectural style, but encourage compatible design, whether traditional or contemporary.


Meetings are held on the second Thursday of each month at 5:30 p.m., in City Council Chambers, City Hall, 102 N. 3rd Street, Wilmington, North Carolina.

Current Members


 Term to Expire On:

 Rob Romero, Chair  At Large  06/18/2021
 Ron Wilson  At Large  05/08/2024
 Chris Yermal  At Large  01/18/2024
VACANT  At Large  06/21/2023
 Ashley Wilson Overlay District, HD-O  05/08/2023
 Stephen Sulkey  Resident Overlay, HD-R  05/08/2023
 Mary Ann Keiser  Historic Separate Overlay (HD-O, HD-R)  04/20/2022
 Michael Smith  Historic Separate Use, HD-R  07/01/2022
 Joan Keston, Vice Chair  Historic Separate Use, HD-R  07/01/2022


Learn more about the Historic Preservation Commission