The city is under a State of Emergency. City of Wilmington and New Hanover County leaders have also announced a curfew for Wilmington and unincorporated areas of the county, which shall apply to the hours of 9 p.m. to 5 a.m. from 6/2 until further notice. View the city's proclamation here. View the county's proclamation here.

View Frequently-Asked Questions (FAQs) Regarding Coronavirus and Recent Protests/Curfew

View the New Hanover County Health Department Coronavirus (COVID-19) Website

View City-Related Information and Closures Regarding COVID-19

Wilmington Planning Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Appointments are made by the City Council for three (3)-year terms. City residency is required.

Seven (7) members   


The purpose of the Planning Commission is to prepare studies of the area within the jurisdiction and surrounding areas, determine objectives to be sought in the development of the study area; prepare and adopt plans for achieving these objectives; develop and recommend policies, ordinances, administrative procedures, and other means for carrying out plans in a coordinated and efficient manner; advise the Council concerning the use and amendment of means for carrying out plans; exercise any functions in the administration and enforcement of various means for carrying out plans that the Council might direct; and perform any other related duties that Council may direct.


Meetings are held on the first Wednesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in City Council Chambers at City Hall.

Current Members 

 Term to Expire On:

 Richard Collier, Chair  09/21/2020
 Bruce Bowman  09/21/2022
 Jeff Hovis, Vice Chair  09/21/2020
 Candy Cortes  08/01/2021
 Jeannie (JC) Lyle  08/01/2021
 Al Sharp  09/21/2023
 Ron Woodruff  09/21/2023

Staff Liaison

Ron Satterfield, AICP, Assistant Planning Director: 910.341.3255.


For More Information

Click here