City of Wilmington/New Hanover County Community Relations Advisory Committee

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


"We are a bridge to promote
trust, communication, resources, diversity, and respect
within the community" 




The committee was established by the Wilmington City Council and New Hanover County Board of Commissioners for the purpose of addressing community issues involving prejudice or discrimination on the basis of race, national origin, creed or religion, age, gender, sexual orientation, disability or medical condition; informing the Appointing Authorities and other organizations of their findings; and making recommendations, in an advisory capacity, to the Appointing Authorities and other organizations, as necessary. 

Click here to see the Resolution Approving Bylaws for the New Hanover County/City of Wilmington Community Relations Committee. 



Owen Wexler, Chair

Evelyn Bryant

Emily Cottrell

Melanie Frank, Chair, Crisis Prevention/Preparedness sub-committee 

Jeff Hovis, Chair, Public Education sub-committee

Jen Johnson  

Kristen McKeithan

Walter Samuels

Brenda Swartz 

Florence Warren

Lori Wainright, Chair, Program sub-committee 



The Community Relations Advisory Committee meets on the fourth Tuesday of each month, except December, at 5:30 pm in the Lord Spencer Compton Conference Room, City Hall,  102 N. 3rd Street, Wilmington, NC, unless otherwise posted.  


Staff Liaison:

Suzanne Rogers, ,  910-314-5809