National Register Historic Districts

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The National Register of Historic Places is the nation’s official list of buildings and districts worthy of preservation because of their architectural and historic significance. It is a federal program administered by the National Park Service in partnership with state and local governments. Wilmington has seven districts listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

  • Wilmington Historic & Archaeological
  • Market Street Mansion
  • Carolina Place
  • Carolina Heights
  • Masonboro Sound
  • Sunset Park
  • Westbrook-Ardmore
  • Brookwood

Designation as a local historic district has no connection with listing in the National Register of Historic Places. Properties within the National Register Historic Districts are not subject to review by the Historic Preservation Commission unless they are within the local district boundaries. A 90-day notice of demolition is required for buildings and structures in the National Register Historic Districts. To learn  more about National Register of Historic Places in Wilmington and to see the district boundaries map click on the Wilmington Historic District informational brochure.

Federal and State tax credit programs for these districts are administered by the State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO) in Raleigh. For more information, contact the Restoration Branch at 919.807.6572 or visit the SHPO website.


Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer