The city is under a State of Emergency. City of Wilmington and New Hanover County leaders have also announced a curfew for Wilmington and unincorporated areas of the county, which shall apply to the hours of 9 p.m. to 5 a.m. from 6/2 until further notice. View the city's proclamation here. View the county's proclamation here.

View Frequently-Asked Questions (FAQs) Regarding Coronavirus and Recent Protests/Curfew

View the New Hanover County Health Department Coronavirus (COVID-19) Website

View City-Related Information and Closures Regarding COVID-19

Jack prepares for his ride along with WPD.
Wilmington Police Boat on The Cape Fear River

Policing Services

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


The Field Services Bureau is comprised of the Uniform Patrol Division and the Special Operations Division. Deputy Chief Alex Sotelo oversees this bureau. 


The Support Services Bureau is comprised of the Administrative Support Division, Planning & Research Division, SABLE Aviation Unit, Special Investigations Division and the Criminal Investigations Division. Deputy Chief David Oyler oversees this bureau.